1.26.2012

escape

so i've realized that there's three ways you can approach an issue. to escape it (internet, drugs, sex, alcohol),  fix it (confront and change it), or become mindful of it (just realize it's there). and i realized that i'm a bit of an escape artist. so of course this caused me to look up the definition of escapism. and this is what i gotthe avoidance of reality by absorption of the mind, in entertainment, or in an imaginative situation, activity, etc.

what the heck. so i realized that whenever i have an issue, i choose to ignore it, in a way. i think this is something i really need to work on. not that i have many problems at the moment. just whenever i have something i need to think about, i would rather browse pinterest or facebook than think about it. or drink a glass of wine. so far, this mindfulness class has really made me become aware of my surroundings.... because of the mandatory (or strongly suggested) meditation homework (that i always fall asleep doing). i'm really working on everything. and i've kinda realized that everything in life is a work in progress, in itself. how existential..

i would like to proudly (even though i know pride is condemnatory quality) say that i have a very open mind to everything i'm exposed to. i know i just ended a sentence with a preposition. whatev. i haven't even listened to all the political debates/speeches going on lately. am i a bad american? i just want someone to rule our country that can make things better. and i know "better" is such a relative term. i guess i have really idealistic (or quixotic) views about things. 

so i've been exposed to a lot of great music lately. and jenny lewis' acid tongue album has quickly become a fave. and i think i've rubbed off on jenna a little bit. because she made a cover of it, a capella. my sister is a really great singer. annnd i've noticed that i describe things as "really great" a lot lately, and i feel like i need something a little more creative.

and i've been playing this song on repeat a little bit.

also, i think i might overuse emoticons.

and i think all of the "shit __ say" youtubes are hilarious.




No comments:

Post a Comment

your thoughts