chicago's pretty cool..
i think i could live there.
here's some bad things recently:
- the airport lost my luggage on the way back from chicago and i didn't get it for a couple days
- my check engine light came on so i took it to toyota and found out nothing was wrong- they just had to reset the light. i still had to pay $103.
- got my first ticket in the mail for not stopping completely while turning right at a red light.
- rufus continues to routinely wake up at 6 am every morning to play for an hour, juuust enough to not let me be able to fall back asleep.
- i move tomorrow and i haven't packed one thing.
here's some good things:
- presented at my first work conference (that was cool)
- visited the northwestern campus and fell in love.
- went to nashville to see my friends and had a really good weekend :)
- realized that i take the gre in a week!
- move in right across the hall from my bff tomorrow!
- my sister moves to the same city as me in a couple weeks.
- my hair has stopped falling out (for real... i think)
so my little brother finally made the move to my old room now that i've been out of my house for almost 5 years. last time i was home, i attempted to help my mom clean out some of the things in my closet and drawers so my brother could start using them. (but you know how when you start "cleaning out", it just turns into looking at old pictures and reading old things and going down memory lane. well, it does for me at least). so i found allll my old journals (i think there was a total of 6 or 7) and started reading a few pages from each. the most comical one to read was the first one i started in 1st grade. every page started with "I am happy because.." and i thought it was refreshingly simplistic and genuous to remember that i really was extremely happy every single day. then i opened one from middle school and high school and read all the complaining and emotional teenage girl things i was going through. and it made me think. after all the perspectives i've seen at this stage in my life, it's really hard, actually impossible, to get back to that simplistic mirth. but the least i can do is try.
i talked to a good friend the other day who always pops in my life just at the right times to remind me about what's important. i have a tendency to get so lost in my own mind that sometimes all i need is someone to say, "hey- you're so lucky/blessed/fortunate/whatever form of that word you wanna call it" and it brings me back.
so, as an attempt to get back to the daily "I am happy because.." journal entries, i've started thinking about something every morning that i am so happy i have in my life. and it more-or-less leads to positive thinking throughout the rest of the day.
& if this was my iphone, i'd put in a couple of my favorite emoticons at this point. haha
cheers to friday!



